Johnston-West Endowed Department Chair of Pathology

Washington, West, Johnston,Huang

The Duke Department of Pathology is pleased to announce that the Endowed Department Chair of Pathology has been renamed to honor William Webb Johnston, M’59, and Charles Raymond West, who have both dedicated their lives in service to Duke University. Jiaoti Huang, MD, PhD, and all future department chairmen will hold the Johnston-West Endowed Department Chair of Pathology.

Dr. Johnston started the Division of Cytology within the Department of Pathology, and served as the Chief of Cytopathology for 25 years until his retirement in 1996. Mr. West, a 1954 graduate of Wofford College, was a familiar and beloved figure at Duke University, having served as Director of Corporate Payroll Services from 1968 until his retirement in 1995. President Nannerl O. Keohane personally presented Mr. West with the Duke University Award for Merit at the time of his retirement. Both gentlemen live in Hillsborough, North Carolina, and remain deeply committed to the Department and the University. 

Photo: Dr. Eugene Washington, Mr. Charles West, Dr. William Johnston, Dr. Jiaoti Huang.     Credit: Jim Wallace